Room 9 – a space for writers, Spring 2020 dates

Opportunities

In Summer 2019, we opened up Room 9 as a free space for writers and creative groups based in London to use every Thursday. We welcomed over 40 writers into this space and following their positive feedback, we offer this opportunity on a permanent basis.

If you’re a writer and are looking for a free space to write, create or work on projects in a friendly and supportive environment, then we’d love to offer you our Room 9 as a free space to write.

Based at the Albany, Room 9 will be available to use every Thursday from October 2019. The room has wi-fi, plug outlets and kitchen utilities such as a small fridge, microwave and kettle. Room 9 is also a wheelchair-friendly space. We have created a guidance sheet on how to use the Room, which can be found here and we ask everyone to read it before coming along: https://www.spreadtheword.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2019/09/Room-9-guidance.pdf

The Albany is a lively place to be, so we can’t guarantee that the areas surrounding Room 9 will be quiet. If that doesn’t bother you, we’d love to see you!

The dates and times for 2020 are:

Thursday 9 January 10am – 5pm

Thursday 16 January 10am – 5pm

Thursday 23 January 10am – 5pm

Thursday 30 January 10am – 5pm

Thursday 6 February 10am – 5pm

Thursday 13 February 10am – 5pm

Thursday 20 February 10am – 5pm

Thursday 27 February 10am – 5pm

Thursday 5 March 10am – 5pm

Thursday 12 March 10am – 5pm

Thursday 19 March 10am – 5pm

Thursday 26 March 10am – 5pm

Writers are welcome to come and drop in to use the room at any time during these days. The room’s capacity is 8 people. Writers are welcome to phone ahead (we’re on 020 8692 0231 ext 249) to check capacity before leaving, though we cannot guarantee the room will be available by the time you arrive! In general, the room is not at capacity so you will probably be ok!

In the unlikely event that we are not able to offer the room due to last minute extenuating circumstances, we will post a message on our Twitter account – so please check this before leaving, just in case: Spread the Word Twitter account

Details on how to find us are here: https://www.spreadtheword.org.uk/contact-us/

If you have any questions, please get in touch: aliya@spreadtheword.org.uk

Published 11 December 2019